Whatever will be will be

In the year 2010, 26th October precisely, I got a call from a prospect I’d chased for about 6 months finally extending an invitation for us to come in the following day for a presentation.
My excitement at the office knew no bound.

However, we were not prepared for the surprise and thus wasn’t ready. We asked for a 48 hours extension. At that period of the year, most office samples are at various clients or prospects disposal, internally perusing them for in-house conclusions and subsequent decisions.

Our 48 hours extension was granted but unfortunately my Mum passed to the great beyond the very next day. It was indeed the greatest shock of my entire life.

I was totally devastated, confused and low in spirit. She passed on a Wednesday so I called the prospect to reschedule our presentation for Friday.

By the re arranged date, I was too engrossed in burial activities et cetera to even have time for any office work or client visit.

“It’s better to be slapped by the truth than kissed with a lie”

I called again to push the presentation forward till Monday. Prospect once again empathised with me in agreement. Monday came and passed without me even bothering as I was overwhelmed with burial planning and activities caused by the unexpected loss.

“We have a plan . . . Until we are punched in the head”
– Mike Tyson

It was like the end of the world for me. I was shattered. Completely so too.

My Mum was buried 12 days after she passed on the second Friday and I came back to Lagos on Saturday. Those 12 days were the longest lonely nights of my life. I was very manly during the day and cried myself to sleep every night, waking up in the middle of these nights to start another round of weeping amd gnashing of teeth.

“Rain falls because the sky can no longer handle its weight. Tears fall because the heart can no longer handle the pain”

We had things undone, in their dozens. Promises unfulfilled to her.

My last visit is still fresh in my memory, we had as usual had a disagreement at the hospital and I stormed out of the room, looking back as I slammed the door shut.

Her last look to me said it all.
‘GOODNIGHT’
But I honestly didn’t get it.

Very strange look. A rather sad one too. The ‘farewell thee’ written allover her face.
A big regret till this day that I missed the opportunity to say goodnight nicely.

“Goodnight usually means goodbye, Me replaying memories in my head
Look at you, look at you. Look what you made me do”
– Alicia Keys

On that note, I wasn’t going to have anything come between me mourning her, at least till she was buried. I lost a whopping 7 kilograms in those 12 days before her burial.

I resumed work on Monday and at about noon put a call through to my prospect yet again, asking if I would still be allowed for the presentation. She asked when I thought it would be possible for me to come in.

“TOMORROW” I gladly said.
‘Deal’, she agreed.

I was there right on time the following day. Presenting to a team of 5 in their extensive boardroom and as they say, the rest is history.

I got their entire order and went on to work for the company, a Brazilian bluechip over the next 3 years.

‘The most important thing about nature is that you have to have death to have life.’

Told this story to a now also deceased cousin and he was of the opinion my late Mum made it all possible.

I got lucky many would say. But the truth is where LUCK is OPPORTUNITY plus PREPAREDNESS, you also have a huge role to play in its actualisation. Do your best and leave the rest.

Yes, work can wait. That’s the sad truth.

Play HARD. Work HARD.

“All good is hard. All evil is easy. Dying, losing, cheating and mediocrity are easy. Stay away from easy (Arsenal inclusive ’emphasis mine’)”
– Scott Alexander

To thy own self, be TRUE, you’re your ONLY limit !

#singing:
“Que sera sera. Whatever will be will be”

@ O’Shine ORIGINAL

4 thoughts on “Whatever will be will be

Leave a Reply

