“I could draw”

I look back in time and smile at some of the things I did growing up . . . I particularly remember my mud works – moulding prototype buildings; decked, fenced, roofed plus windows and doors.

They were very real . . . Very different from what other kids my age did too . . . Structures emanating from deep within my young soul made real . . . I brought out the drawings from my heart . . . Giving them life . . . Birthing them.

I could draw . . . For real.

For that singular fact, everyone around me thought out loud:

‘He is gonna be an engineer’

I did everything at that stage real fast too . . . The only one of my siblings that leaped from primary 5 to class 1 . . . It was a feat . . . A family record.

It was to catapult me to the technical arm of my secondary school as well . . . We had the grammar, science and technical arms . . . In line with the dream, my combination was carefully selected . . . Technical drawing, woodwork, metalwork, applied electricity and the likes . . . I stood out tall in the TD classes . . . I wanted to be an architect. It was inborn.


I could draw . . . So awesomely too.

One tree never make a forest I found out . . . TD wasn’t enough for I barely was surviving in the other subjects.
I struggled through secondary school with virtually nothing to show for it . . . Drawing wasn’t enough, but I scraped through anyway.

The pre degree science programme gave me a second chance and shot at a university education . . . This navigated me in the direction of a science course . . . Fisheries and aquatic biology . . . Further opportunities to draw . . . I excelled, infact standing out . . . I drew so well in the practical classes that the lecturers found it unpractical and unbelievable.

4/10 or 3/10 scores . . . Copywork I got for my brilliant works where my mates that traced from the textbooks got 8/10 or 9/10 . . . Very good for copying.

How cruel ?

I got punished for being so so damn good . . . I eventually got chucked too.

I could draw . . . But it got me nowhere.

I fought my way into the social sciences faculty for yet another shot at a degree . . . Downcast . . . Low spirited . . . I trudged on and eventually did it . . . 9 years it took too.

Phew.

I could draw . . . Real life lessons.

My quest to draw took a new dimension with the advent of social media . . . Specifically my joining fcbk in 2008 . . . I got a totally new opportunity at drawing.

I could paint an entire picture in my head . . . Happenstance, event, occasion . . . Absof.ckinglutely anything and bring it to real life . . . I could see the beginning and the end of any situation . . . Beginning with the end in mind . . . One huge habit I acquired over time.


I could draw . . . With words.

I could build, construct, draw, evolve or frame a story so good and so real that I couldn’t differentiate if it was real or fiction on the long run.

I am an architect eventually . . . Architect of words.

Long and short of all these . . . When I write, what I write and how I write does not categorically depict me . . . What you read about me are not as they seem.

Just so you know . . . I am getting somewhere.

I could draw . . . Absof.ckinglutely anything !

@ O’Shine ORIGINAL

#lifeandtimesofanupcomingwriter

13 thoughts on ““I could draw”

  1. Definitely! Enjoyed your unique journey and reflection. It’s inspiring to read others’ roads as storytelling artists. Keep going, chasing visions through words and drawings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

